

# **Newsletter 2014-2015**

#### **PROMOTIONS**

The Department congratulates Wei Sun for his promotion to Professor effective June 1, 2015.

#### **HIRES**

• Dimiter Dryanov and Nataliia Rossokhata have been renewed for a 2<sup>nd</sup> year as LTAs. Welcome to Lakhdar Aggoun and Ionica Groparu-Cojocaru who have been hired as LTAs effective August 15, 2015.

#### **DEPARTURES**

• Farewell to LTAs Madjid Amir, Abdellatif Bellahnid, and Jeremy Macdonald who are no longer at the University.

## **DEPARTMENTAL NEWS**

- The fourth Montreal-held Math Kangaroo Contest attracting children from ages 6 to 16 with 180 participants was hosted by the Department in March 2015.
- ♦ The Department had established *The Dwivedi Memorial Lecture Series* in 2012 thanks to an endowment from the Dwivedi Family. The fourth lecture in this series was held in April 2015.
- Yogendra P. Chaubey has been elected to serve as a member of the recently launched CANSSI (Canadian Statistical Sciences Institute) Board of Directors.
- Galia Dafni, appointed to serve as Deputy Director of the CRM (Centre de recherches mathématiques) for the 2013-14 academic year, has been renewed for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 academic years. This position is responsible for the publication of the CRM Proceedings (in the Contemporary Mathematics series of the American Mathematical Society), the CRM Monographs Series (co-published with the American Mathematical Society), the CRM Series in Mathematical Physics (co-published by Springer), and all other CRM publications, including the CRM Bulletin.

The CRM's mandate is to serve as a national centre for fundamental research in mathematics and their applications

- Chantal David was elected as Vice-President (Quebec) of the CMS (Canadian Mathematical Society)
   Executive Committee. The CMS promotes the advancement, discovery, learning and application of
   Mathematics in Canada.
- Lea Popovic was elected to serve as member of the CMS (Canadian Mathematical Society) Board of Directors. The CMS promotes the advancement, discovery, learning, and application of Mathematics in Canada.

- Alina Stancu was elected to serve as Director of the ISM (Institut des sciences mathématiques) for a three-year term starting June 1, 2015. The ISM is a consortium of nine Québec universities (Concordia University, HEC Montréal, Université Laval, McGill University, the Université de Montréal, UQAM, UQTR, Université de Sherbrooke, and Bishop's University) for training and collaboration in the mathematical sciences
- The Actuarial Program holds provisional accreditation by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) for the fourth year. This accreditation applies to courses that started on or after September 1, 2012. It gives students who achieve certain minimum grades in their actuarial courses the option to apply to the CIA for exemptions from the preliminary professional actuarial exams.
- This is the third year that Concordia University has sent two students to Chicago for the Student Summit organized by the Society of Actuaries for all universities holding the title CAE (Centre of Actuarial Excellence). This year, Ms. Marie-Claude Baillargeon (BS -Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) and Mr. David Tagliamonti (BS -Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) represented the University.

#### **STUDENT ACHIEVEMENTS**

We are extremely proud of our student achievements. Congratulations goes out to all!

# 2014

# **Undergraduate Awards**

- Mr. Jason Azzoparde (BS Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) was the second Concordia Coop student in the past four years to win the *Bourse Gilles Joncas*, awarded to the top Co-op student in Quebec by the Association canadienne de l'enseignement cooperative (ACDEC), Quebec branch. He also won the *Guarantee Company* scholarship.
- Mr. Brahim Abdenbi (BA Honours Pure and Applied Mathematics) and Ms. Nevin Murad (BA Major Mathematics and Statistics, Minor Analytic Economics) were the recipients of the *Brenda Carter and David* Wheeler Memorial Award for 2014-15.
- ◆ The Economical Insurance Award is the highest-value undergraduate scholarship for actuarial students. The winners are Messrs. Joseph Alacchi and Vincent Carrier-Côté (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) for 2014-15.
- Mr. Christopher Genio (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) received the *Morneau-Shepell Scholarship* for 2014-15.
- ♦ Mr. David Tagliamonti (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) received the Renewed Entrance Scholarship for 2014-15.
- Ms. Jasmine Lemay-Dagenais (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics) was awarded the *Robert V. Tucker Memorial Award* for 2014-15.
- Mr. Daniele D'Antico (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) was awarded the *Towers* Watson Scholarship for 2014-15.
- Ms. Yingting Zhu (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics) received an unrestricted in-course bursary and International Student Tuition Bursary for 2014-15.

Ms. Yijun Pan (BSc - Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics) and Messrs. Wesley Chung (BSc - Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics), Dylan Derome (BSc - Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics), and Ryan D'Orazio (BSc - Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) were recipients of an unrestricted Faculty of Arts & Science scholarship for 2014-15.

#### **Graduate Awards**

- Ms. Jing Zhang (PhD Probability) was awarded the Ann-Marie Agnew Scholarship for 2014-15.
- Mr. Xiang Gao (PhD Financial Mathematics) received the *Concordia University Graduate Fellowship from* September 2014 to August 2017.
- MSc students Misses Jillian Braynen and Sandra Nawar, and Mr. Shamal Karmaker received *The Faculty of Arts and Science Fellowship* from September 2014 to August 2016.
- International Fee Remission was awarded to MSc students Ms. Jillian Braynen and Mr. Shamal Karmaker from September 2014 to December 2015, and to PhD students Messrs. Xiang Gao and Yang Zhao from September 2014 to August 2016.
- The J.W. McConnell Memorial Graduate Fellowship was awarded to MSc students Ms. Neha Wadhawan and Mr. Alexander Danielsky for three terms from September 2014 to August 2015.

### 2015

# **Convocation Medals**

Mr. lakovos Jake Chinis (BSc - Specialization in Pure and Applied Mathematics) was the recipient of the Eric
O'Connor Mathematics Medal and was also awarded The Mappin Medal as the highest ranking student
graduating with a BSc degree.

# **Undergraduate Awards**

- Ms. Alessia Di Paolo (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics) and Messrs. Gianmarco Antonacci (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) and Simon Desrosiers (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics/Finance) were honoured at this year's Faculty of Arts and Science's *Dean's Scholar Awards*.
   Mr. Zackary Schnarr (BSc Specialization in Actuarial Mathematics) also received this award, however, he was absent from ceremony.
- A 2014 NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award (USRA) was awarded to Ms. Jida Al-Husami (BSc Pure and Applied Mathematics).

# **Graduate Awards**

- Misses Olga Balkanova and Francesca Bergamaschi, and Messrs. Daniele Dona and Genaro Hernandez Mada have all been awarded funding through the ALGANT (ALgebra, Geometry and Number Theory) agreement to work in Number Theory at Concordia for one year.
- MSc students Misses Afaaf Afzal and Chana Pevzner received The Faculty of Arts and Science Fellowship from January 2015 to December 2016.

- Mr. Nicholas Beck received a FQRNT (Fonds québécois de la recherche sur la nature et les technologies (F.Q.R.N.T) scholarship for 2014-15. He works in Actuarial Mathematics.
- Ms. Samia El-Khoury and Mr. Nicolas Beck, MSc students, tied for the *Towers Watson Scholarship*.

# **Graduate Awards (Cont'd)**

• Misses Ashwag Alzahrani, Manal Al-Zahrani and Hanan Hakami received full MSc scholarships from Saudi Arabia. Mr. Eyat Al-Farajat received a full PhD scholarship from Jordan.